Skip to content

AFSPA extended for 6 months in 8 Assam districts

Days after the Centre announced it would reduce the “disturbed areas” under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA), the Assam government extended AFSPA, in eight districts of the state for six more months with effect from April 1. As per the notification, the “disturbed area” status, however, has been withdrawn from Lakhipur sub-division of Cachar district.

In rest of the eight districts, where “disturbed area” status has been in-force with effect from October 1 last year as per a previous notification, AFSPA will continue to be applicable. The “disturbed area” status will be applicable in areas covering Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Charaideo, Sivasagar, Jorhat, Golaghat, Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao districts.

Back To Top