Skip to content

Nagaland Gets First Woman MLA

Nagaland got its first-ever woman MLA today, after 60 years since it attained statehood. Hekani Jakhalu, from BJP’s ally NDPP, has won from Dimapur-III seat. The 48-year-old lawyer-activist was among four women of the total 183 candidates who contested the Nagaland assembly elections. Ms Jakhalu defeated Lok Janshakti Party’s Azheto Zhimomi.
Another woman candidate Salhoutuonuo Kruse, also from the NDPP, is leading in Western Angami seat.

The ruling NDPP-BJP alliance is set to retain power in Nagaland, where counting is underway, as it won three seats and is leading in more than 35 seats.

Back To Top