Skip to content

Election Commission Bans Exit Polls to Ensure Fairness in Poll-bound States

Election commission of India

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has imposed a ban on exit polls from April 19 to June 1, 2024, across poll-bound states and union territories to uphold the integrity of the electoral process. This prohibition encompasses all forms of media, including print and electronic, from circulating or telecasting exit poll results during this period. The decision aligns with Section 126(1)(B) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, which prohibits the dissemination of opinion polls and election analysis within 48 hours before the end of voting. Violators of this mandate could face imprisonment and fines, underscoring the ECI’s commitment to ensuring free and fair elections.

Back To Top